New SDCF Board Members | South Dakota Community Foundation

SDCF Elects New Board Members

October 30, 2023 // Board of Directors and Staff

South Dakota Community Foundation (SDCF) held board member elections at the Fall 2023 Board Meeting in Sioux Falls this past month. SDCF welcomed three new members - Carla Gatzke of Brookings, Cynthia Mickelson and Greg Sands of Sioux Falls.

“Carla, Cynthia and Greg bring a great deal of leadership experience to the Board, but most importantly, they bring a strong commitment to the future of South Dakota,” said SDCF President & CEO Stephanie Judson.

Three current members were elected to serve an additional three-year term. Those members are Scott Jones of Pierre, DeMaris Nesheim of Hill City, Matt Cronin of Gettysburg and Bob Sutton of Sioux Falls.

Scott Jones of Pierre was elected to a two-year term as Board Chair. Other officers include Dennis Daugaard of Dell Rapids as Vice Chair, Karl Adam of Pierre as Treasurer, and Stephanie Judson, President and CEO of the SDCF from Pierre as Secretary.

The board also recognized outgoing board members Kathy Gunderson of North Sioux City, Deanna Lien of Rapid City and Keith Moore of Sioux Falls. Kathy Gunderson ended her three terms of service as Grantmaking Committee Chair. Deanna Lien spent nine years on the Board Development and Investment Committees. Keith Moore served on the Grantmaking and Board Development committees.

“I personally want to thank Kathy, Deanna and Keith for their years of service and leadership to South Dakota. They worked diligently to improve our organizational strength and efficiency for the benefit of those we serve,” said Judson. “I consider them leaders, mentors and friends.”

SDCF is a public non-profit organization established in 1987. SDCF, with offices in Pierre, Rapid City, Sioux Falls and Aberdeen administers 1,200 funds benefiting hundreds of charitable organizations annually. The Foundation distributed nearly $30 million in grants in 2022 which made a tremendous difference in communities statewide. This would not have been possible without the generosity of our donors. If you have a specific cause you would like to support or would prefer to give for the general good of our state, please visit to learn more or call 1-800-888-1842.

View our full Board of Directors and staff here.